Blueberry Spelt Pancakes

(Note about yesterday’s giveaway at the end of this post)

I am not a morning person. I would like to be a morning person, but really I don’t try very hard. I go to bed late, far too late, and my mornings normally begin with kids sitting on my head. And the little skull smashers want breakfast.

Or rather, they WANT BREAKFAST. BREAKFAST. BREAKFAST. And they NEED it NOW. NOW. NOW.
So I’m half asleep and I have to make food and I have to make it fast and I have to do it with a kid in my arms and two more wrapped around my legs. Oatmeal, the obvious answer to this early morning fiasco, is off limits per the terms of our recent breakfast treaty (Breakfast Rebellion of 2011). So this week, we’ve been eating yogurt for breakfast. Yep, yogurt.
I planned to make a big batch of homemade granola to go with the yogurt, but it didn’t happen. We’ve had an entire week now of mornings fueled by plain yogurt. No one has complained yet, but I’m thinking it would put a smile on everyone’s face to end the week with a real breakfast.


This morning, I’m making pancakes. And these are the best pancakes! Happy Weekend.

Blueberry Spelt Pancakes

3.5 cups spelt flour (freshly ground is best)

3 cups milk (I use soy)

4 eggs

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp aluminum free baking powder

1 to 2 cups fresh blueberries

In large bowl add flour, milk, eggs, coconut oil, maple syrup and salt. Mix well. Batter should be smooth, not too thick. Add baking powder and whisk well. Remove whisk and do not stir again.

Gently remove from bowl and place on hot griddle – I use approximately 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake. Sprinkle on fresh blueberries and cook until cakes bubble slightly, then turn over.

Serve warm, with butter.  Try them with this delicious Blueberry Lemon Sauce!

Makes approximately 20 six inch pancakes.
++++++++++++++++++
Note: Blogger went down last night and when it finally started working again just now I discovered that yesterday’s giveaway post is gone.  If it isn’t restored, I’ll repost the giveaway.

This entry was posted in breakfast, Edible, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

