Cheap Therapy, of the British Variety

For only $9.99 a month, Netflix is helping me to uncover my hidden self and analyze my psyche.  When I signed in the other day, Netflix had something to say to me.  Based on my viewing history and interests, Netflix told me that it had created a new category for me: Romantic British Period Pieces Featuring a Strong Female Lead.

And this isn’t the end either.  I still have Wives and Daughters, then South Riding, and I am looking forward to Cranford and Our Mutual Friend.  If I try hard enough, I may even be able to add a few more titles to this list and keep it going for a while longer.

Aside from the fact that I am crazy, and perhaps watch too many shows on the internet late at night, I think Netflix has given me a bit of wisdom here: 

  • Romantic: I didn’t know I was.  But perhaps I am.  Netflix knows best.  In fact, now that I am thinking about it, I was awfully invested in Margaret Hale’s relationship with John Thornton in North and South.  I may have even cried a little, teeny, tiny bit in Daniel Deronda when Gwendolyn found herself facing heartbreak. Yes, Netflix knows best.
  • British: I’m not.  But I wish I was. It might explain a lot.
  • Period Pieces: Well, this one is obvious.  Even Netflix knows I was born into the wrong century.  Let’s sing together now: “Take me out to the 19th Century . . .”  Well, maybe I’m not much of a singer. But I would sport one of those dresses, cozy up in one of those manor houses (who am I kidding, I’d be perfectly happy with the farming peasants), and find me a little horse and carriage in ten lickety split seconds. 
  • Strong Female Lead: Netflix, you have hit the nail on the head.  I couldn’t have put this on my resume a year ago.  This single mama, however, has spent the last year learning a thing or two about being a strong female lead.  Watch out Dorcas Lane, I’m getting ready to take over the Post Office.

Thank you Netflix.  I look forward to our next session.  I feel like I am making a lot of progress.

Have you watched anything really good lately?  Does Netflix make good viewing categories for you too?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

