To the Significant Others:

1.  It is not my job to be sexy for you.

2.  It is not my job to make you happy.

3.  It is not my job to make you feel good.

4.  It is not my job to make you feel good enough.

5.  It is not my job to make you feel appreciated.

6.  I don’t need you.  You don’t need me.

7.  You don’t need my approval.

8.  It is not my job to make excuses for you.

9.  It is not my job to keep you fulfilled.

10. I cannot protect you from the consequences of your actions. 

You can try to do these things for your significant other.  I did.  But not only is it not your job, it is impossible.  You can’t make someone else feel/be/do anything, ever.  I learned this the hard way. 

These things are not part of the recipe for a happy or healthy relationship.  You can’t be everything for someone else and you can’t expect someone else to be everything for you.  That’s not what a relationship is about. 

What is my job?  To love myself.  To love you.  Love, just love -start and end with that.

“It makes sense to a good person to focus on others, but you need to take care of you. 
You, me – all of us- must stop being in denial about who we are
and our part in the breakdown of the human spirit
and begin the process of minding our own business
by seeing how we participate in the crimes against ourselves. “
Debbie Ford
Is there some place in your life where you have been giving away your power? 
What helps you recognize that you have power over the choices you make
and the actions you take? 
This entry was posted in balance, perfectly imperfect, whole living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

