Make Dinner Count: Turn Meal Time into a Positive Family Experience

As a single mother with three small children at home, dinner used to feel like a lot of work. My three kids often met my efforts with something like this: “I don’t want green beans again. She got the pink bowl yesterday and it’s my turn. She stole my napkin. I’m not hungry. Why can’t I put my feet on the table? It’s not fair.”

It started to feel easier to feed them all a bowl of granola and eat a peanut butter sandwich by myself after they all went to bed.

I never felt good about it. I know that families that eat together are healthier, happier, and more connected. When I realized that my children were missing those special family meals, I decided to change my attitude about dinner.

(I wrote this article for Mom it Forward. Read the whole post and comment on Mom it Forward . . .)

This entry was posted in family, food, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

