Maple Glazed Pumpkin Scones

Wednesday is the only day of the week that I don’t have to run all over town.  It’s not my turn to carpool, we don’t have any lessons or sports, and I do my very best not to schedule anything on Wednesday so it can be my Home day.  If I had my choice, I think six out of seven days a week would be Home days because at heart, I’m a real homebody.  
Since we are home on Wednesday mornings without any rush, I normally make something special for breakfast.  These Maple Glazed Pumpkin Scones feel very indulgent, even though they only take about twenty minutes to mix up.  

These scones are a particular favorite of my four year old.  When I asked her why she liked them so much, she explained that when she tastes them she thinks of the Honor of Gray scone.   I tried to explain to her that what She-Ra really says in those vintage cartoons is the Honor of Gray skull, but she didn’t buy it.  Oh well.  It’s a shaky endorsement, but she always eats the whole scone and asks for seconds, which feels like an honor to me. Good enough.

Maple Glazed Pumpkin Scones

Ingredients

1/3 cup sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3 tablespoons plain greek yogurt
1 large egg

For the Glaze

3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 oz cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt.  Whisk in sugar and spices.

Using largest holes on a box grater, grate frozen butter into flour mixture and mix until it resembles coarse meal.

In a small bowl, combine egg, pumpkin, and yogurt and mix well.   Stir yogurt mixture into flour mixture.  Using hands, shape dough into a ball, making sure to fold in all the loose clumps.

When dough is well combined and sticks together in a large ball, turn out onto a lightly floured surface.  Shape into a 7 inch circle, approximately 3/4 inch thick, and cut into 8 equal pieces.   With space between each triangle, place on a parchment covered baking sheet.  (Alternatively, you can use a scone pan.  I have this one.)  Bake for approximately 15 minutes, or until golden.   Allow scones to cool and prepare glaze.

In a small bowl, combine all of the glaze ingredients and whisk until smooth.   Drizzle glaze over cooled scones.  Eat and enjoy.

Recipe adapted from My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in baking, breakfast, dessert, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

