Winter Breakfast Fruit Crisp: Pear, Pomegranate, Cranberry

I have to do something difficult today.  Not a day has passed in the last six months that I have not thought about this difficult thing I have to do.  Today is finally the day.  

So on this monumental morning just before I face the dragon, after all the days of praying, and worrying, and praying some more, what am I going to do?  Eat a good breakfast, of course!  I am going to rely on the routines and comforts of the ordinary this morning as I pick over my winter selection of fruit and heat up the oven.  After that, I’m going to rely on God.

My favorite fruits in the winter are Cranberries and Pomegranates.  I am always trying to fit them into my baking.  This morning, I combined them with pears to make a delicious baked fruit crisp.  Absolute comfort food!  I played with a dessert crisp recipe to make it a little bit healthier for breakfast – less sugar, more protein.  The result: A perfect breakfast on a cold winter morning and a perfect start to this day.

Winter Breakfast Fruit Crisp

Adapted from Mark Bittman’s Food Matters
(Printable Recipe)

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees farenheit

Ingredients

5 cups peeled, diced ripe pears (about 2 pounds)
1 cup fresh cranberries
2/3 cup pomegranate seeds
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (divided)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut
5 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup spelt (or whole wheat flour) – freshly ground is best
1/3 cup chopped pecans
pinch of salt

Directions

Lightly grease a 9-inch round or 8-inch square baking dish.  Combine fruit and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in a large bowl and combine gently to avoid smashing the fruit.  Spread fruit mixture into the greased baking dish.

Combine the remaining 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon with all remaining ingredients in a food processor or large bowl.  If using a food processor, pulse two or three times to combine into a crumbly mixture.

Pour the topping over the fruit and bake 35 to 45 minutes, or until fruit is soft, fruit juice is thick and bubbling, and topping is browned.  Serve hot or warm.  Makes approximately 8 to 10 servings.

What are your favorite breakfast dishes in the Winter?
Favorite comfort foods when times are tough?
This entry was posted in breakfast, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment